Why certifications after some years of work experience was the right choice for me?

online-3412473_1920.jpg

Many tech companies, today, demands CSM, CSPO, PMP, or any other certifications for certain positions. They quote it either as a prerequisite or a plus point to have it on a candidate’s resume. This trend makes the candidates without certifications feel insecure, of not being shortlisted for the job, be it for an experienced or a fresher.

So, does it mean that you need to rush for the certifications right away, even if you are a fresher?

I am a Certified Scrum Master and a Certified Scrum Product Owner. It’s been seven years now that I have been in the software development industry as Product Manager, Project Manager, and initially, a Software Developer when I started my career. After working for five years, I went for my first certification, CSM, and almost a year later, CSPO. These certification classes are not just based on theoretical studies. They are also based on discussions on hypotheses and real-life practices. When I attended these classes, I was already familiar with most of the terms and discussions that we were having in the class. We discussed over the hypotheses, experiences, real-life examples, and practices from everyone who attended the classes, which all related and were relevant to the theoretical knowledge and the curriculum that the Certification classes had to offer.

With 4–5 years of work experience in the classroom, I could participate in most of the discussions where I could understand other’s problems, share my struggles, ideas, and discuss the solutions with everyone. I am not saying that certification classes weren’t helpful. Indeed it helped me a lot in better understanding and put things the right way to implement and execute correctly. I must say the knowledge that the certification classes provided and my experience went just hand in hand and did not conflict. The certification classes were so productive and effective for me and added so much value. Few of the participants in the classes who had just started their careers could only take the theoretical part and what was written on the documents or the handouts that were shared with us. Any real-life examples, scenarios, or relevant discussion beyond the course would just puzzle them and go off their head. At this point, looking at their struggle to understand what’s going on, I felt so good about my decision on taking these certifications only after a couple of years of work experience.

I cannot address everybody’s scenarios. Most of them might have been compelled to take the certifications in the early stage. It’s all their choice and totally depends upon how they want it. But I personally feel and suggest my community that, if you are not compelled then first go for any opportunities that don't demand any certifications. Experience the role, responsibilities, and all day long different kinds of scenarios and real-life experiences. Once you understand and get familiar with your roles and responsibilities, only then go for the certifications, one by one, as per your need. This step will help you to understand all the core basics practically, makes you explore all by yourself first, and get the best out of your certification along with making your investment on it worthy.

With that being said, I’d like to convey that, this article is completely based upon my experience and my opinions. There aren’t such hard and fast rules, or policies written anywhere that it has to be this way or the other. It’s completely about how the certifications after some years of work experience made more sense and valuable to me.